I was in one of my good moods when I was having one of my conversations with God one morning. You know how it goes…all spiritual…”God let me be your servant today…blah, blah,blah. Let me be a light to someone…blah,blah,blah…amen.”

Two hours later I pulled into a car wash and noticed a couple washing their gorgeous black luxury Lexus. I pulled into the next slot to wash my Honda! Within minutes a beat up, old truck pulled up and a young man waved me over. Yes, I was cautious. I couldn’t hear him to well because of his loud muffler.

“Would you happen to have a few dollars to give me? My truck is on empty and the job I was supposed to do today, didn’t happen. I have to drive 30 minutes to get home, and I have no gas.”

Good grief, I thought. Do I look like I have extra money. What about the couple next to me with their Lexus? Why ask me? I have kids in college. “Sorry, no money here, I said as I walked away. And then it happened.

I THOUGHT YOU WANTED TO HELP ME TODAY! Smack dab right in my face!

“Wait,” I screamed at the old truck pulling away. He stopped and backed up.

“Are you really on empty? I asked as I carefully looked at the gauge. It was beyond empty!

I handed him some money. “Do you know Jesus?” Talk about a bold question. Definitely not me.

“Yes, I do,” he said with a smile on his face.

I walked away and looked at my car. My Honda’s not so bad after all.

(Update: The Honda has been traded in for a Toyota!)

