Throughout His earthly walk, Jesus spoke of His identity with the Father. He was confident in who He was. He was still the Son of God even though He had a corporal form. Jesus told His disciples, Before Abraham was, I am. He was supremely aware of His self-existence and His relationship to God. To help us clearly see who He was, He spoke in picture words. . . I am the bread of life . . . I am the light of the world. . . I am the door. . . I am the good shepherd. . . I am the way, the truth and the life.

At times we wonder who we are, how we fit into the plan of life. But Jesus tells us in John 14, Because I live, you also will live. . . I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. With Christ in us we have a resolution to any identity crisis. We can dismiss notions that we are nothing, that we don’t matter, that we can’t contribute. By grasping the truth of His words, the knowledge of our self-existence in Him, and the life we have because He lives, we can rise above the waves of self-doubt. We are His.

