Have you ever had a friend in Christ who shows up in and out of your life and when they do they have something to say. Last night, a long time friend called very late in the evening to speak into my life. I have been struggling with wondering what God is doing with me…my inadequacies, my insecurities. I didn’t tell him about how I was feeling, but he told me a true story of a man who had a dream he met God. Long story short, the man complained about what he couldn’t do…and God told him to take his eyes off of himself…and focus on Him. And until he changed, God couldn’t use him for His will. Moses did the same thing.

When I get consumed with what I can do and my talents…the focus is on my God-given abilities. On the hand, when I focus on what I can’t do, I tend to think I’m humbling myself, but again, the focus is on me and what God is not doing in my life.  My friends’ words spoke loudly…”Keep your eyes on God, my friend, and watch what you will do in the lives of others.” I’m sure I won’t hear from him for another six months or so…

